Canadian Government report shows how it will Legalise and Regulate Cannabis

Press Release

13 December 2016

No Embargo


Canadian Government report shows

how it will Legalise and Regulate Cannabis


The Canadian government appointed Task Force on legalising and regulating cannabis will publish its official report today (13 December 10:45 EST, 15:45 GMT). The new legislation to deliver the recommendations is expected in early 2017.


Steve Rolles of the Transform Drug Policy Foundation, who has recently returned from Canada where he had a formal role in advising the Task Force, said:


“Transform welcomes this important report. The Task Force recommends strict regulations which will put the government firmly in control of the trade, and place health and the safety of young people at the heart of Canada’s approach to legally regulating cannabis. Coming hot on the heels of California and other US states also legalising, global cannabis prohibition is clearly doomed. The world’s biggest cash crop is about to shift from gangster control to government control.”


The current Canadian government was elected on a manifesto commitment to legalise and regulate cannabis. The Task Force on Marijuana Legalization and Regulation was created by the Ministers of Justice, Attorney General of Canada, the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, and the Minister of Health to help deliver on that commitment.



Steve Rolles  (+44) 07980 213 943

Martin Powell (+44) 07875679301



  1. Transform Drug Policy Foundation is an international, charitable think tank with staff in the UK and Mexico. We are working to get drugs under control by advocating for strict regulation of all aspects of the drug trade.

  2. More detail on the Task Force

  3. Transform’s book ‘How to Regulate Cannabis: A Practical Guide 2nd Edition’ is available free online as a pdf

  4. As of November 9, 2016, the use of recreational cannabis has been legalized in the states of Alaska, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Nevada, Oregon and Washington, as well as the District of Columbia.